I suppose I should update you.

16Apr10

Not feeling particularly in a “wordy” writing kind of mood. After all I do have a paper to finish this weekend so most of my effort will be put into that.

SO to sum some things up (and I totally hate myself because I know this whole entry is going to end up being a lot longer than I think it will) this last week has been pretty awesome. I had a pretty shitty night on Tuesday (headache, couldn’t sleep, intense nausea) but it made sense because I woke up on wednesday with my monthly gift. I wasn’t going to go to class because I felt like utter and complete crap but I decided that I should and thankfully when I got there my headache started to diminish (which confirms my period theory).  When I got to English my headache had pretty much completely gone (although the lack of sleep from the night before left me exhausted) SO exhausted to the point where I realized we were getting our paper 3’s back. I was so unsure of my paper 3. Parts of my argument seemed pretty ambiguous (at least to me) so I was pretty sure I’d end up with a B plus at best but I ended up pulling it off with an A- :). So i’m looking at my paper and on the top of it my instructor had written *see me after class for some good news, so immediately I was thinking wtf? So class ends and I go up and I know I probably never wrote about this one here but he had nominated one of my essays for the ENC 1102 “essay contest award thing” for freshmen writing. Well they picked mine 😀 It won! I mean my enthusiasm was pretty contained (my boyfriend was making a bigger deal about it then I was) but it really brightened my day considerably being as I woke up feeling like death. In any case, i’m going to be receiving a letter from the head of the English department and there is also going to be some kind of scholarship money (the amount has not yet been released- lol) in my student account :]. So yay for my writing in this instance.

Speaking of writing, I have chosen to stick with my English major. Although next semester I still have several freshman requirement classes to fill, I got advised towards my English major for the first time. I’m going to be taking spanish -gag- it’s a requirement (flashbacks to sophomore and junior year of high school here I come) and life science (I needed a science with lab) and Interpretation of Fiction (GRW requirement) , some linguistics class? to fill some..I don’t know some other requirement?, and that’s it! Notice anything? NO MATH. NO MATH. NO MATH . I AM DONE (hopefully) WITH MATH FOR THE ENTIRE REST OF MY EXISTENCE.

bueno.

side notes:

my skin has been getting so much better ( I have a draft post alllll about my skin that I have yet to finish and publish but when I do I will).

I have successfully gone to the gym three times a week (wednesday thursday friday) or some variation of that for over a month now! I am extremely proud of myself and I love it. I am really glad that i’ve begun to take advantage of some of the things attending a university has to offer me (besides the shitty math professors). I mostly do treadmill and elliptical but i’m looking into eventually trying some of the weight machines (with Ash’s guidance of course, I don’t want to hurt myself). I ran my first mile at 6.0 mph today :). I’ve worked my way up from 4.9 and it may sound lame but i’m really proud and it’s a really empowering feeling to continuously improve. Their showers aren’t bad at all either! (tried them for the first time today). considering buying a locker. It’s so much easier to just shower there after all.

OH and speaking of the gym. I have recently applied to work there. It’s such a great atmosphere and I really believe in what the recreation center promotes to everyone that attends the university so I think it’d be a great job experience. I’m not set on quitting serving (the money is good) but being as it’s off season a second job would be helpful and because the gym is right on campus I wouldn’t have any problem holding it as a job in fall either. It would integrate with my schedule too well to really interfere with anything. At least as I see it.

So keeping my fingers crossed for a call back and a positive interview :].

Let’s see what else..

oh yeah depression time.

Ash and I have been having a tough time lately. He’s got a lot to deal with and school is stressing him out to the max, so I understand but I feel like he really doesn’t want to communicate about much anymore. I dunno, I feel like he’s shutting me out of  a lot and it really bothers me. it’s like c’mon i’ve been dating you for almost 11 months now. Wow that’s almost a year. I mean  almost a year and I feel like we’re regressing in our communication skills right now rather than improving. Tonight we’re supposed to spend some alone time together (without books, essays, computers, or other distractions- besides pizza) and i’m really hoping that maybe we can talk things out. I know that he doesn’t like telling me everything and that it’s very hard for him to be open with me- and I don’t expect him to tell me everything.  It’s just that obviously when our relationship seems “strained” for communication, you’re not telling me enough and we need to fix it. I don’t like being in this weird funk with him.  I love him and he makes me happy, I just want him back to how he actually is :/. In all honesty I think what we both need is summer vacation. Can’t come soon enough.

oh and my car semi crapped out on me this week. I know that I don’t drive it as much as I should (this will no longer be an issue as I plan to take it out as frequently as possible starting. now.) but it had a bad sensor which messed up the computer which controls the transmission (i’m using uneducated car user language here for sure) and basically it made it so my car wouldn’t really go above 40 mph or shift beyond third gear. Luckily because I am fortunate enough to have a father whom works in the auto business, he “hooked it up” and I was able to fix it for under sixty dollars. The sensor has been replaced and i’m hoping that that will be the last of it for awhile. I love my car and it’s been good to me so I should really be better towards it. That’s my mid April resolution. be better to my car. awesome right?

</end>

I guess back to the positives (wow i’m actually focusing on the positives for once in a blog entry).

I’ve brought my statistics grade up a significant amount and am confident that I can do well on the next two tests

my blackberry (no jinx!!!!!) has been working out great and I LOVVVEEE IT. oh god it keeps me in touch with everything. Its push functions are a life saver when it comes to teachers canceling classes and office hours last minute (cough english cough) and it’s just awesome! Wish I actually knew people with blackberrys so I could take advantage of the bbm feature but maybe one day hahaha.

OTHERWISE like I said this turned into a ridiculously long clusterfuck, Ash just told me he’s on his way here (and I am nowhere near ready so WIN) and now PICTURE TIME BYE.

No Responses Yet to “I suppose I should update you.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

